Looking at bees in a new light

18 Sep

I used to be wary of bees. A childhood sting taught me to steer clear, and when pain is involved I’m a very fast learner.

Why did I have that second child again?

Now as I attempt to grow food, bees really matter. For without bees, there’s little pollination.

When I walk past my broad beans I can often hear the buzz of bees at work, and I know that my plants will be setting lots of pods.

And I smile.

This year I have a lot invested in my fruit trees. They are all very young, and I’m desperate to get fruit off them, even if it’s only one piece. Just a promise for the future.

Everything has been in full flower – a glorious invitation. These apple blossoms were beautiful, along with the wonderfully fragrant citrus and stunning stone fruit. I must find more space somewhere for another stone fruit tree, because I think I’d grow them for the flowers alone.

But of all my trees, I am the most hopeful for the avocados. I have a Type A and Type B for pollination and they are covered in flowers, but I haven’t seen a bee within coo-ee of either.

I’m getting desperate. Today I even went out with a paintbrush.

I don’t think my little trees could support more than 2 or 3 avocados, so my requirements are small, but please…

At least one!

On each.

6 Responses to “Looking at bees in a new light”

  1. Barbara Good September 19, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    I could have written this post myself – besides the avocado bit, too cold here in Melbourne so I will live vicariously through yours and be forever green with envy. My broad beans have had loads of bees around them and are now loaded with beans. It makes me smile too, though in the past I would have steered well clear. I’ve also invested in some flower seeds in the hopes of getting that same bee action on the other side of the garden – where my fruit trees are. Good luck with your avocado and other fruit trees, will be at least another year before we get anything from ours.

  2. Liz September 19, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    I’m a little bit sad as I have no bees – I found a dead one the other day and perhaps it pollinated something but thats about it….my daughters right I need to plant flowers – if only I can persuade her they don’t have to be pink….

  3. Liz September 19, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    Oh and I should mention I’m jealous of the avocado, or rather I will be when you’re drowning in fruit as you no doubt will be soon ….I heard the other day they grow in Tassie and if it grows in Tassie it should grow in Melbourne – the big problem is where to put it…..

    • L September 20, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

      I grow mine in pots. My success may be limited that way, but the spot I have picked out for them is currently covered by our garage. My plans are long term 🙂

  4. ali September 20, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    Ooo I can barely look at your avocado tree. I have my nose screwed up as a write this… My lovely avocado tree, my beautiful flowering tree… was attacked by possums or rats or something. Every single flower gone. Every single one.

    Because I feel the same way about my fruit trees as you do – mine are new too and I just want proof that they will do what the shops say they will, I know you will understand that if you get an avocado I will not be able to comment on the post with any sort of congratulations at all.

    And I will read it with my nose all screwed up.

    • L September 20, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

      Oh Ali, I’m so sorry! I would be just as devastated – It’s just not fair!
      I’m not surprised that they are attractive to small furry creatures though – the flowers are actually very sweet.

      Just don’t ask me how I know that 🙂

Leave a Reply

