Tuesday Night Vego – Quiche with a rice crust

7 Feb

Today I thought I’d share a vego meal that I cooked for a friend last week. We’ll be eating vegetarian again tonight, but I thought I’d post this one earlier in the day so it might be more useful for people.

Quiche is a simple standby meal, particularly if you have your own chickens and a ready supply of eggs. The main drawback is the high fat content, which is concerning for us at the moment given that my husband P is trying to lose weight.

A great alternative is to make a rice crust for your quiche instead of using pastry.

I’m hopeless at estimating quantities, so I often have rice left over from a previous meal. Sometimes I’ll freeze it, but most of the time I leave it in the fridge for use over the next couple of days.

In this particular case I had a mix of basmati and wild rice left over from some Mexican chilli beef.

Tomato, mushroom and feta quiche with a rice crust

1- 2 cups cooked rice. Brown rice works especially well.

1  to 2 egg whites

1 tomato, sliced

Handful of mushrooms, roughly diced

Handful of basil leaves, torn.

125 grams feta cheese, crumbled

2 whole eggs, beaten lightly.

3/4 cup milk (approx)

1 tablespoon sour cream (optional)

Method

Preheat the oven to 190 degrees

Grease the quiche dish. Spray oil works well for this.

Mix rice with egg white.

Most of the time 1 egg white is plenty for a single rice crust. You want to moisten the rice, but it should not be ‘wet’. Press the rice into the dish, forming a nice crust shape.

Put the crust in the oven to bake until brown. Mine could have done with more baking than shown in this photo. It is ideal if the base of the quiche is browned too.

While the crust is baking, chop the mushrooms, slice the tomato, crumble the feta.

Pull the crust out when done and sprinkle the mushrooms over the base. Place the sliced tomato over the top, then sprinkle with the basil and feta.  Mix the eggs with the milk and sour cream (optional). If I was following the Tuesday night vego rules properly I would leave out the sour cream. Season with pepper. Salt shouldn’t be necessary because of the feta.

Pour the egg mix over the quiche filling and place back into the oven until set and browned on top.

Head over to Linda’s blog to more simple vegetarian meal ideas.

9 Responses to “Tuesday Night Vego – Quiche with a rice crust”

  1. Sarah February 7, 2012 at 10:43 am #

    I like this recipe! The leftovers (if there are any with hungry kids) would make a nice lunch too. Might give this one a go soon, although I might do a non-vegetarian salmon quiche.

  2. Norma Chang February 7, 2012 at 11:16 am #

    This sounds great. I do not like to make pie crust and always have left over rice so this recipe is for me. Why do you use egg white and not the whole egg?

    • L from 500m2 in Sydney February 7, 2012 at 11:27 am #

      I guess you could use the whole egg Norma, but I think the result with just the white is lighter. I just want to bind the rice together rather than change the texture too much, and I suspect that th yolk would make it too ‘eggy’ for my liking.

  3. Linda Woodrow February 7, 2012 at 11:42 am #

    What a great idea. I used to make rice cakes often when my son was a teenager, and he and his friends had bottomless legs. They were just cold cooked rice, mixed with an egg, dropped in spoonfuls into a pan with a little hot oil and fried till crunchy. So I get the idea that the rice and egg can make a good crust. And that’s a lot more healthy a way to use the concept!

  4. Maggie Walters February 7, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

    that looks fabulous! i think we’re gonna have to give that one a try!

  5. Liz February 7, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    What a great idea – is it as nice as pastry? I made a tomato tart today – lots of puff pastry – I did feel a little guilty about the fat though…..this could be the solution.

    • L from 500m2 in Sydney February 7, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

      It is very different to pastry. When it works well (brown rice, usually) it is equally good but different. It’s difficult to beat a really good shortcrust, but there’s no contest, health-wise.

  6. hughbert February 20, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    Just trying this one for dinner. The brown rice crust was a bit patchy in spots, and my edge wasn’t high enough, so my crust leaked. It almost turned into a messy disaster but I solved the problem by putting a piece of baking paper between the crust and the quiche tin. Yay!

    All turned out to be very tasty and nice to eat gluten free too. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment