Tuesday Night Vego – Mixed Mushrooms with Garlic and Chives

21 Feb

Still on the home stretch of P’s diet, so Tuesday Night Vego is seriously low-kilojoule this week. Tonight we had:

Mixed Mushrooms with Garlic and Chives

Adapted from Low Carb, Low Fat by Pamela Clark

  • 1 kg mixed mushrooms of your choice (I used 200g shiitake, 200g king oyster, 200g swiss brown, 300g white button) I know I can’t add up.
  • Olive oil spray
Dressing
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon Olive Oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
Salad
  • 2/3 cup roughly chopped chives
  • 2 cups loosely packed flat-leaf parsley
  • 1 medium red onion, thinly sliced

Preheat the oven to 160 degrees

Cut the mushrooms into chunks, roughly even in size. You might leave the smaller ones whole, depending on the particular varieties

Spread mushrooms over baking trays so they form a single layer. Don’t overlap them. spray with oil and sprinkle with salt. Cook in oven until tender (approximately 30 minutes)

Once the mushrooms are close to ready, heat  the dressing ingredients in a saucepan, stirring until warmed.

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and toss to combine. Serve warm.

To see what other fast simple vegetarian recipes people are making tonight, head on over to Linda’s Blog. Ooh! tonight Linda made Chilli Beans – one of my favourites!

5 Responses to “Tuesday Night Vego – Mixed Mushrooms with Garlic and Chives”

  1. Sarah February 21, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    Were the mushrooms nice? I haven’t tried that particular recipe.

    • L from 500m2 in Sydney February 21, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

      Yep. P really liked it. Personally, I’m still hungry, even after topping myself up with cheese and biscuits ;P

  2. veggiegobbler February 22, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    Mmmm I love mushrooms. I reckon I’d still be hungry too though. I think it needs some carb and protein to completely satisfy me.

  3. Gardenglut February 22, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

    Yum!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Harvest Monday – 27th February 2012 « 500m2 in Sydney - February 27, 2012

    […] Used in a dish here […]

Leave a comment