Tuesday night Vego – Cabbage and Corn Fritters with Caper Mayonnaise and a tomato salad

17 Jul

Getting back on top of things and picking heaps of veggies, so time for another Tuesday Night Vego Challenge recipe. I had 1/2 of a smallish wombok in the fridge, so I wanted to use it somehow.

The recipe for the cabbage and corn fritters came from here.

I used Linda’s caper mayonnaise recipe from here.

Then I served the fritters with a tomato salad of diced fresh tomatoes, a bit of finely sliced spring onion and the last of my basil, miraculously still clinging onto the bedraggled plant. I dressed with balsamic vinegar, brown sugar and olive oil.

The fritters were simple but completely delicious, and I’m not sure I’ll buy mayonnaise ever again.

8 Responses to “Tuesday night Vego – Cabbage and Corn Fritters with Caper Mayonnaise and a tomato salad”

  1. Louise July 17, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    Oh great, this is perfect, thank you! I have quite a bit of cabbage to get thru and this will do nicely. I think I will make it with the corn off the cob though. I am a huge fan of home made mayonnaise ( even better if I had my own cackleberries) and so will try this recipe too.

    • L from 500m2 in Sydney July 17, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

      I really should have saved the wombok for the kimchi but I have quite a bit of it growing and wanted to use the freshest stuff – to ferment – what was I thinking?

      I just hope I can save some more wombok from the slugs. I swear those things are just slug magnets. Nothing else (really) has been touched by the slugs this year because they can’t bear to leave the wombok- good in a way (I guess).

  2. Liz July 17, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

    I make corn fritters (usually using frozen sweet corn kernals) regularly, sometimes for breakfast, sometimes for lunch and sometimes for dinner – I love that they are great anytime of the day. I too love making mayonaise although I was a little disturbed to realised just how much oil it contains….

    • L from 500m2 in Sydney July 18, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

      I think that the cabbage really makes these ones. They remind me a lot of okonomiyaki.

  3. Jean July 17, 2012 at 11:35 pm #

    Those look great šŸ™‚ And that small-quantity mayonnaise recipe looks great for boiled egg sandwiches, although I do enjoy making mayo by hand. Must be something about mixing things.
    Actually, I was thinking last week that J might be of the right age to enjoy mixing mayonnaise by hand, and maybe I could teach her. Depends how much you feel like having mayonnaise that gloops, I guess šŸ˜› But I agree, it’s not worth buying!

  4. Daphne July 18, 2012 at 1:12 am #

    Those fritters sound delicious.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tuesday Night Vego – Cabbage and Apple Braise with a Potato Pancake « 500m2 in Sydney - July 31, 2012

    […] been testing out cabbage recipes that the kids might actually eat. Last week we had corn and cabbage frittersĀ that went down a treat, and tonight I thought I’dĀ incorporateĀ some apple into a braised […]

Leave a comment