Insert bad fungus pun here

22 May

Time for an update on my mushroom growing kit.

I swear – I could have been harvesting several days ago. That is, if I hadn’t ‘sampled’ the first flush when it was about the size of a pea.

Must. Exercise. Self. Control.

J with the mushroom kit

We’ve been misting the kit with water every day and making sure the spare room stays nice and cold. Yesterday (after the green manure slaying), we pulled the box out of the wardrobe. We’d been peeking fairly regularly, so we knew that we were ready to pick a small crop. The kids could hardly wait.

Swiss brown mushrooms deveoping

The mushrooms seem to be springing up mainly from the corners and edges of the box. I can see others forming in other areas, so I’m pretty confident that we’ll get them all over eventually.

Ali from Mud Pie has one of these kits too. She started hers a few days before mine, and she’s weighing the mushies as she picks them. I think I’ll do the same, because it appeals to my competitive spirit. Why do I have a competitive spirit when I never win at anything? You’d think my spirit would have been crushed already, but no, I just keep on trying despite my incompetence!

First mushroom harvest

So, after picking the decent-sized ones, we have 4 mushrooms weighing 145 grams. That makes it the second largest fungal growth in our household behind the one in the bottom drawer of the refrigerator.

Sorry – that was in Spore taste.

7 Responses to “Insert bad fungus pun here”

  1. Leanne Cole May 23, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    I tried growing mushrooms years ago and didn’t have a lot of luck, but looking at yours I’m inspired to try again. I use mushrooms in almost everything. Where do you buy the kits?

    • L May 23, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

      You can get them direct from the supplier at http://www.fungi.net.au or they have a variety of stockists. I find that the ones at Bunnings tend to be dead by the time you get them because the warehouses get way too hot.

  2. Asydfoodie May 30, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    I want to try a kit, but L refuses “to grow mushrooms under the house”

    • L May 30, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

      Aww – tell him he’s gutless!

  3. ali June 1, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    Alright – you’re on! I love a healthy competition, and surely mushroom growing is as healthy as it gets?

    Just to let you know though – I am so gonna kick your butt.

    Actually, just out of interest, which brand did you buy?

    • L June 1, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

      Now you tell me! Just after I harvested the latest two at button mushroom size -exactIy 25 grams in total. Now I’m going to need to exercise some self control and let them get a bit bigger before I pick 🙂

      I have same kit as you – the Swiss Brown from fungi.net.au

      My grand total at the moment is pretty pathetic – 13 mushrooms and 347 grams.

      I’m gonna have to lift my game in a hurry!

      • ali June 6, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

        That’s really interesting… I have harvested maybe 6 by now, and they have totaled almost half a kilo I think. So not nearly as many as yours, but I am obviously not as impatient as you :p

Leave a comment